Connect with us


NCDC announces 226 new coronavirus cases, total now 6401



The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) has announced 226 new cases of coronavirus in 16 states with Lagos leading the pack with a whopping 131.

In a tweet on Tuesday, May 19, 25 cases were reported in Ogun state, with Plateau coming behind with 15 new cases. NCDC announced 11 new cases in Edo, seven in Kaduna and six in Oyo.
Five cases were reported in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and Adamawa each.

Four cases were declared each in Jigawa, Ebonyi and Borno. Nasarawa has three cases while Bauchi and Gombe have two cases each. Enugu and Bayelsa states completed the list with one case each.

The total number of cases now stand on 6401. 1734 people have been successfully discharged while 192 casualties from the pandemic have been recorded so far.

Kogi and Cross Rivers are the two only states in the country that are yet to record the presence of the virus even though there is a fear the government of the two states are not doing enough to discover the virus which NCDC predicted would spread to all states of the federation.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *