Connect with us


Court affirms election of senators Ekweremadu, Abba Moro, Ifeanyi Ubah



The election victory of three serving senators have been upheld by the Court of Appeal

Senator Abba Moro

The senators are Ike Ekweremadu, Abba Moro both of the PDP and Ifeanyi Ubah of the YPP.

Senator Ike Ekweremadu

The appeal court sitting in Makurdi, the Benue state capital, upheld the election of Abba Moro as the senator representing Benue South senatorial district.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate and former deputy governor of the state, Steve Lawani, had approached the Appellant Court after the tribunal threw out his case for lack of merit.

Delivering judgment, the Appeal Court, led by Hon. Justice Jumai Sankey, upheld the decision of the lower court which upheld the victory of Moro, a former minister of interior, on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

At the Enugu division of the Appeal Court, the election of former deputy Senate president, Ike Ekweremadu was upheld.

In a unanimous judgment delivered by the panel chaired by Justice I.M. Salawu, the court dismissed the appeal filed by Juliet Ibekaku-Nwagwu of the APC for lacking merit.

The Court of Appeal sitting in Enugu also affirmed the electoral victory of Ifeanyi Ubah as the senator representing Anambra South senatorial district. The appellate court upheld the decision of the tribunal and dismissed the appeals of Chief Chris Uba of PDP and Senator Andy Uba of APC for lacking merit.

Ubah, contested for the election under the platform of the Young Democratic Party.